Dealing With Pressure

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Ultra_Tech, Jul 10, 2014.

1. Ultra_Tech

Ultra_Tech New Member

Hello All

Thought I could do with some advice on this one.

How do you guys deal with pressure of deadlines at work and how do you stay focused throughout the day?

For some reason at the moment, I don't feel like I am performing up to my maximum, I feel I am getting constantly distracted, I find it difficult to concentrate and as a result, I am not as productive as I should be.

I'd be interested in particular to hear from anyone who codes for a living, I am not a developer, but I work in Application support for a software development company which means I spend a lot of time reading/analyzing/changing code (SQL 98% of the time)/dealing with application/database/webserver/sometimes even windows server performance-related issues.

How do you guys deal with the tons of emails that come in, people asking you to handle "urgent" (it's always urgent) issues, especially when quite a few of the issues are in depth and involve days of investigation/analysis/corrective action.

Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

I've been a developer for 20 years.

Generally a productive environment for a developer minimises interruptions, this includes emails and meetings.

Many agile shops have a daily morning stand-up for this reason, it should leave most of the rest of the day free for the developers to code uninterrupted.

Context switching frequently is unproductive whether its a computer or a human, arguably the effects are worse in humans.

People are often most productive and enthusiastic when they can experience flow, by having interruptions you are breaking peoples natural thought process.