Database Books

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by Metalstar, May 25, 2008.

1. Metalstar

Metalstar Kilobyte Poster

Hi all

I'm the general IT Manager for a smallish finance company. One part of the business currently have their own database which is maintained very occasionally by one of the directors brothers!

He will be retiring this/next year so they are looking for someone to maintain the current one or create a new one. I would love to build the DB myself but would like to know if anyone can recommend some books for me. The DB is currently built in access which I have some experience with but not enough to confidently build a DB or maintain one.

I'd be very grateful for any recomendations!

Certifications: A+
    WIP: Network+
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Access has many books available about it. You will need to determine which version you have because Microsoft keeps changing things.

General database books, while useful, may not be very applicable to Access, as it is somewhat of a toy database.

Don't get me wrong - Access is very useful in many applications, but it isn't up there in the heavyweight class!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Metalstar

Heh, I suppose this is where it gets tricky then. The current DB is built using Access 2003. I use open office but have a spare 2003 licence at the office.

What other options are available . . and which of the many access books would you recommend. I guess the route i could go down is maintain the access db and migrate it to something better at a later date.

4. mark_uol

mark_uol Bit Poster

Hi there,