CV HELP

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by skulkerboyo, Oct 22, 2007.

1. skulkerboyo

skulkerboyo Megabyte Poster

Ok I think I need some CV advice. I've been on the trail hunting an entry level I.T. job for months now and its gotten to the point where I've about given up. Had a couple of interviews. The first one they actually wanted a DB admin so I've no idea why they interviewed me. I basically wrote that one off 5 mins into the int. The other one was great but guess the competition was better. Since then I've been getting phone calls from agencys telling me they're putting me forward for this and that but so far no takers. I've got some experience but its from four years ago. I'm a little worried that my current employment (facilities/security) is putting people off. I also think my CV needs a going over from people in the know. I've published it as a google doc and removed all personal info other than my name-here it is

Skulkerboyo cv

Any help appreciated at this point I've nearly lost all hope:cry:

Certifications: MCITP:SA, MCSA 03, MCSA 08, MCTS(680+648),A+,N+,ITILV3 Foundation, ITIL Intermediate: Operational Support and Analysis
    WIP: 70-417
  2. grim

grim Gigabyte Poster

your CV doesn't seem to be weighted right, you have loads of IT knowledge at the top but as you move down you have little IT experience which suggests you're only good on paper. maybe you should simplify your knowledge down on your CV and make it specific to the job you're applying for. also bulk out your qualifications do you drive, transport ?, try merging achievements and qualifications together, add in a little bit about your self and your hobbies/interests and try snazzing up the layout with diff fonts, bold lettering etc

grim

Certifications: Bsc, 70-270, 70-290, 70-291, 70-293, 70-294, 70-298, 70-299, 70-620, 70-649, 70-680
    WIP: 70-646, 70-640
  3. skulkerboyo