Currently training to add those important letters

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by Cuhulainn, Jan 2, 2009.

1. Cuhulainn

Cuhulainn New Member

Hi to this excellent forum.

I am an experienced Technician, having spent the best part of 13yrs, in various roles & companies, providing
    Hardware & Software support. But now, what with the credit crunch & the reduced hours my employer has forced me into, I am looking for to further my career, but almost all HR/Agencies I speak to, are looking for
    qualifications, I don't possess because I've been working all the time & never had a the time nor in-company
    training to aquire those relevant qualifications. Such as A+ N+ MCP MCDST MCSE etc..

I am currently studying MCDST 70-271. A tedious read, & majority of it I already know.

I look forward to your comments & help, should the need arise. Is this the right thing todo? I believe I am
    right in saying that this is building-block qualification, that I could move to MCP or MCSE relatively easier, than taking those from the start?

Cuhulainn

WIP: MCDST
  2. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

Good luck and welcome

Dont be too harsh on the material, a lot you will know, but I was working in IT for 9 years before i did any certifications and I learned a few new things, but the experience you alredy have will speed up your progress.

Good luck in finding a new role.

Certifications: A+, Net+, MCSA Server 2003, 2008, Windows XP & 7 , ITIL V3 Foundation
    WIP: CCNA Renewal
  3. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Hi and welcome to the forums.

From the sounds of it you have quite a good support background (similar to myself) and yes, it is frustrating when recruiters don't seem to value experience over certs.