Contracting......

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by danielno8, May 18, 2012.

1. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

Hello All,

Looking for some info on contracting! There is plenty info out there i have searched and read but still finding it hard to work out exactly what my best option is!

I was contacted about a 6 month contract job, as it turns out it is with my old bosses new place (he left about 9 months ago). We will be arranging a call for next week to discuss.

The agency who contacted me have asked for a rough figure for day rate, for now i explained i'd like to chat more about the role, and also as i am new to contracting i need to work out how i do it so i know what day rate to expect. When i spoke to the agency the first time, she said i can go Ltd co. or go through them. I don't intend going Ltd, as at this stage I don't feel like taking on the paperwork side, and as i'd e inside IR35 it's just not worth it!

So that leaves going through the agency or umbrella. What confuses me, is when i negotiate a rate, she said i can do this direct with the client, or let them negotiate on my behalf. When i am negotiating, should i be taking into account employers NIC/holiday pay....or as some sites seems to suggest, this will be factored in by the client/agency when negotiating my rate? i.e if i say i want £300 a day, will they then take that to be £300 + 13.8% (employers NIC) + 12.07% (holiday pay)?

All thoughts welcomed!

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Top Poster
    of the Month

I've never done it but often consider going contracting. Good on you mate. 300 would be the minimum for a 3rd line Network or Server person I think. A good friend of mine recommends Giant, if anyone else has used them please comment.