Contracting

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by dales, Apr 6, 2011.

1. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

Following on from the thread the other day, I am seriously considering going into contracting work. My new perm role is turning out to be a bad move I think office politicorama and the main reason they got me onboard was to help with their virtualisation project which keeps slipping backwards and I really dont want to lapse my skills in this area. At the moment I'm just a windows admin which is not quite how I thought it was going to turn out. Its making me really unhappy.

So I'm seriously thinking of contracting as looking round the job boards its opening up a whole new world of opportunities for expanding my abilities reasonably quickly. Along with this I am really worried about biting the bullet and contracting as I've never been a contractor before and have no idea what it will be like. I've applied for a couple of contracting roles that would suit me down the the ground but I'm assuming that even if they were interested the fact that they would have to wait 4 weeks for my notice period would put them off straight away.

I really dont want to chuck in the towel without a firm role to goto straight away with 4 mouths to feed at home I cannot really quit and hope for the best.

I could phone up the main recruiters in my area and ask them how things are at the moment for contractors but of course a large pinch of salt would be required with anything they say in general.

So how are you contractors finding work at the moment can you quite easily jump from the end of one contract into the start of another, and how do you find your contracts generally go, do you climb up the ladder a little with each one financially and experience wise or do you have to take that helpdesk contract once in a while when things are quiet.