consulting?!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by dales, Feb 21, 2012.

1. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

Right then guys n girls i'm wondering what steps to take next in my career path and I've been doing support for 10 years now. I've been thinking about moving into consulting recently as I think I would have more of a chance to progress in that sort of role and keep virtualzation as a main part of it.

So those of you who are consultants what's it like are there any things I should look for or avoid in a consultancy firm when interviewing . Also what's all this ote business on the job ads, I take it that its on target earning so as a rule does that mean if a job is advertised as 50-70k ote is there a basic salary below that?

Certifications: vExpert 2014+2015+2016,VCP-DT,CCE-V, CCE-AD, CCP-AD, CCEE, CCAA XenApp, CCA Netscaler, XenApp 6.5, XenDesktop 5 & Xenserver 6,VCP3+5,VTSP,MCSA MCDST MCP A+ ITIL F
    WIP: Nothing
  2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

I like consulting.. its the type of work that never gets boring and it has a lot of front end work, meaning you get to talk to people and help their business... For me, the number one reason why I like consulting is because its challenging work a lot times and you get to work with technology and get to do stuff that you would normally not get to do if you were working for in house IT. The experience that you would get from consulting is a big plus too, you'll learn and pick up stuff a lot quicker than you would if you were working for in house IT. Consulting is also a great way to specialize in something you love doing... If its time for you to move on, I'd definitely consider consulting or at least a role similar to a consulting gig.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  3. Monkeychops

Monkeychops Kilobyte Poster