Considering a move...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by faulknerm, Dec 29, 2008.

1. faulknerm

faulknerm New Member

Evening all,

I'm currently working in a 1st/2nd line telephone support position with a major IT retailer, and I'm considering my options in terms of career progression etc.

I currently earn £16k basic plus performance related bonuses which this year (my first with the company) are worth about £6k, bringing my gross annual to £22k. All in all I don't think this is a bad salary, especially as I am only 20, have 2 years IT support experience (the first was very much 1st line as well)and my qualifications are limited to MCDST and MCITP and a few vendor specific courses.

I'm currently studying for the CCNA cert and I'd like to move into a more network oriented role.

I've stumbled across a support position with a relatively small ISP, on a pay scale from £17k to £25k + bonuses and I've requested the application pack, which arrived today. I'm considering submitting my application, however I am concerned that the fact I've not stayed with my current employer for more than a year may prejudice me, and will not look great on my CV in future.

One other consideration is that the job would mean me moving over 100 miles from where I am currently living, however it would put me closer to my family which if certainly not a bad thing.

I guess what I'm really looking for is a "would you" sort of response. :)

Thanks,

Marc

Certifications: MCP, MCDST,
    WIP: CCNA, MCITP
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I guess it would depend on alot of things. If I wanted to be closer to my family, the cost of living, etc... Then I would really look at the job itself... working for a small ISP, what kind of work will you be doing? What about career progression? What can they offer you that your last place couldn't? And the list goes on & on...

Have you thought about a "pro & con" list?