Computer Desktop Fundamentals??? What is it?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by hbomb2k10, Aug 3, 2010.

1. hbomb2k10

hbomb2k10 New Member

Hi I am planning to do a course with ELATT.

The lady I spoke to said, I can get on level 3 (which will be a MCSA/MCTS) if providing I pass the Computer Desktop Fundamentals exam otherwise I have to do a level 2.

I graduated in Information System so I feel I am apt enough to go straight into level 3 which is a MCSA/MCTS. Plus I done AVCE at college.

What has me confused is I can't find any material or what Computer Desktop Fundamentals is, its the first time I have heard of it and its on the Microsoft Roadmap.

Can someone shed some light??

Thanks in advance

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

They could be talking about either (based on what you've told us):

1. IC3 Computer Desktop Fundamentals or
    2. CompTIA Strata IT Fundamentals or even the A+.

However for clarification, I would say ask them.

However have you contacted your local college(s) to see if they do the courses youre interested in? Most of the time, the local college can offer you the courses at a cheaper rate.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

I guess you are talking about this ?

http://www.elatt.org.uk/courses/Computing3.html

They have very reasonable prices.

Graduated with Information systems ? Are you a degree graduate ?

AVCE, never heard that before either, guess its this :-

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/AVCE_Information_and_Communication_Technology

They seem to be teaching A+ and MCSA type material but on the newer track.

I'd still reccomend getting the A+ before you start on MCSA/MCTS style exams, upto you if you self study or not.