CompTIA Security+ Queation

Discussion in 'Security+' started by lebin999, Nov 5, 2007.

1. lebin999

lebin999 New Member

hi everyone,
    i am a uni year 3 student and study Information system in the uni, i want to online study CompTIA Security+ ,can anyone tell me how long approximately will finish the course in i study full time~~Thanks..

2. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

In a word, no. Everyone is different, depending on what experience you have and how quick you pick things up, will determine how long it will take you.

May I ask, how much experience do you have in the security sector, and why you want to start with this cert?

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA 2003 (270, 290, 291), MCTS (640, 642), MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  3. lebin999

lebin999 New Member

not much....just finish a short course call "Enterprise Information system security" which is roughly describe some security issues. i start this Cert because of i interesting in the area's knowledge and want to focus on this area in the future.............

4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

CompTIA recommends two years experience in networking with emphasis on security before pursuing Security+... and I'd agree. Besides, the Security+ won't be very useful in helping you get an entry-level job because entry-level jobs don't involve security.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  5. lebin999

lebin999 New Member

i have little confusING NOW....can anyone give me some suggestions which CERT is more suitable to me? i am interesting NETWORKING & SECURITY.........

6. BosonMichael