Comptia A+, N+

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by broomo74, Nov 17, 2005.

1. broomo74

broomo74 Bit Poster

Hello peoples, I've read thru' threads on here for an hour or so and kind of made my mind up but maybe some of you couldhelp a bit more.

I've had a Skilltrain person round trying to sell me his package.
    I told him that I'm a novice who want's to go down the MCSA route. He did say do the Comptia A+, N+ first at my own pace then onto the MSCA.

From reading the threads this sounds like good advice. But the dilemma I now have is whether to pay the £3000.00 for the whole Skilltrain package Or do it in 2 sections without making a £3000 commitment.

I'm thinking of doing the Comptia A+, N+. I work full time and ideally would still like to whilst studying. So I'm looking to do it in about a year. Can people please advise me on wher eis the best place to get started i.e. buy the course from a training provider or go it alone doing self study. Also what equipment, books, Cd's etc. I need. I take it the Meyers is highly recommended.

all help much appreciated.

2. moominboy

moominboy Gigabyte Poster

yep meyers books are highly recommended for a+ here but i think his n+ leave a bit to be desired, though not from personal experience.

it all depends on how best you learn mate, and what you would feel comfortable doing.

the salesman at least told you some truth in that you probably would be better doing the a+ and n+ courses first as these "get your feet wet" so to speak.

so if you feel that you need the discipline of a classroom then go for it, but take it a bit at a time, no need to hand over loads of dosh only to find out you don't want an MCSA at all.

hth mate, good luck!

Certifications: ECDL
    WIP: A+
  3. Clyde

Clyde Megabyte Poster

if you're happy to do it yourself, get the books, and get a few bits of kit from ebay and off ye go...