Complete noob....

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by danielno8, Jun 30, 2009.

1. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

Hi folks,

I have next to no knowledge of any form of programming, web design etc etc.

Our Houston office have developed a site which allows clients to RSVP to events our company organise.

I have been asked if we can create something similar.

The one they use was developed with visual studio.

What happens is an email is sent out to all clients, with a link to accept or decline. If they accept it brings up a page with fields for the client to input their name etc. once this is done (this is where my knowledge of what happens gets a little hazy) the data is put into a SQL database, and a report is generated and the data can be fed into excel, and somehow into allowing name badges to be printed off.

How much time (how long is a peice of string i know..) do you think it would take to create something like this, given my lack of knowledge on this subject? is it even feasable?

Any advice any of you can give me on this would be great

thanks

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  2. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

In the nicest way possible ... You're in over your head.

There's no way someone is going to be able to hand-hold you through all of this with absolutely no experience.

Just say you can't do it, it's not feasible.

Qs

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I created something similar at uni using delphi (if i remember correctly) and basic html. Things have obviously moved on since then so I am not sure what you would use.