COMMSUPPORT - Cisco CCNA 6 day course

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by FiveHorse, Nov 3, 2012.

1. FiveHorse

FiveHorse New Member

I've just completed COMMSUPPORT's 6 day intensive CCNA course, and I would like to give my 2 cents to the forum to help others thinking of doing the course, I know when I was researching before I signed up I checked here and would like to think my comments below would help others.

A little bit of background

I originally looked into the CCNA about 4 years ago before I worked in IT; I called COMMSUPPORT and spoke with someone there about the course explaining that I was looking to make a start in IT. I was told not to do the CCNA as it would not help me get a start; especially with no experience. I instead went away did the Comptia A+ and Network +, got my 'break' in IT and currently work as a Senior Support Analyst for a global luxury retailer. Cisco is about 30% of my work load and I felt I wanted to do the course/cert to get a good base level of skill to move forward.

First Impressions
    Joe runs the company and teaches the majority of the classes, in our case he was our teacher. He's a very down to earth, funny outspoken guy who doesn't mix is words. You can tell he loves to teach, he's got a whole heap of analogies and metaphors to teach concepts to you, and made some of the complex subjects much easier to swallow.

Layout of the class / lab
    As promised each student had 4 x Cisco ISR routers and 3 x Switches one of them was a Layer 3 switch. This allowed us all to get on with the labs when it came to do the practical application of what we were taught. Generally Joe would go over a subject first on the board explaining the concept, then switching to his lab putting it on screen and going through and showing us examples of the concepts discussed put into practice, then giving us a 'lab' exercise with the concept to work on ourselves.