CIW Site Designer--v5 vs v4 questions--oh my!

Discussion in 'CIW Certifications' started by JuryDuty, Jun 25, 2007.

1. JuryDuty

JuryDuty Bit Poster

I'm ready to start studying to receive the CIW Master Designer certification but I'm wondering: will the v4 study materials suffice?

I'm so frustrated that I can't find ANY v5 study materials except study questions or the expensive books by CIW themselves. However, I could get several very thick v4 books for a bargain. But I don't want to shoot myself in the foot by studying old material. Thoughts?

(Bit of background: I have a LOT of experience creating websites from design angle both personally and professionally. What I'm more weak in is the e-Commerce and some foundation stuff, especially in regards to technology.)

Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

WIP: CIW Site Designer
  2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

If you've got a high level of experience, you may not need any books at all!

The only thing that might trip you up is some of the jargon/abbreviations and the 'correct procedure' questions like 'what should be discussed in a pre-development meeting?'

Given the cost of the exam (what are they now? £108?) you may find it cheapest to have a crack at it...

Mind you, there is a fair bit of networking in Foundation - so even if you are oozing with design skills you still need to know what the difference between a router and a switch is and what POP does...

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. stuPeas

stuPeas Megabyte Poster

Have you taken the foundations exam yet!
    If not, you will not be able to take the designer exam because the foundations is a requirement before you can sit any of the other modules.

As for V4 vs V5, I know that the V5 foundations has changed quite allot so I presume the Designer has too. I would think a BIG part of the changes will be browser related, and CSS along with Accessibility issues and different display mediums.