CIW Foundation depression and that's just the start!!!....

Discussion in 'CIW Certifications' started by whimsy, Feb 8, 2009.

1. whimsy

whimsy New Member

Hello,

I have just bought a CIW Master Web Designer course. 3 months in of a 18 month course and I'm only on book 2 of the Foundation Series and I am struggling BIG TIME!!

I cannot take the information in, understand it or remember any of what I have read, it's very heavy going.

Is it because I am a complete novice to begin with that I'm finding it so hard?

How important is the foundations stage of being a web designer? Being artisitic I hoped the course would be more pratical and creative rather than 3 thick books to trawl through, and this is just the begining phase.

I am contemplating giving the course up. I really need some advice on this and if it gets any easier.

I am a mum of 3, trying to get a career in something I thought I'd enjoy but it's making me feel depressed!! :cry:

Certifications: CIW Associate
    WIP: CIW Site Designer
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi,

I'm not a web designer, however from what web designers here say, it's your portfolio that counts. Certs are then there to back you up.

I would say no, you're doing the beginners course, so it's aimed at beginners. However not everyone learns the same way, some learn better in a class environment, some via self-study. Not to mention everyone has a different style of learning (eg so while one person can learn alot from a book, another person may need another form of info); just do a search for learning styles.

If you want something more practical and still get an industry recognised cert out of it, I would recommend for you to look at the Adobe Certified Associate (ACA) cert.

However has you've already paid for the course, maybe look to see if there's any CBT's, flash cards, practice exams, something more stimulating than just books to go with your course.