Certification required for network administration

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Ash63, Feb 3, 2010.

1. Ash63

Ash63 New Member

Hi All!

I need some advice on what certifications I need for a change of career to a network administrator. I have worked for 12 years as a analyst programmer on mainframes developing software using a 4GL which has now been phased out. Currently been out of the IT market for 4 years (running a retail business).

What I want to know is what is the best route for me to get into Network Administration, the MCSA route or CCNA and what other qualifications will I need to obtain. i.e if I take the MCSA route is N+ a requirement since I have no experience in the field.

Any advice given will be greatly appreciated.

2. sunn

sunn Gigabyte Poster

You stated you want to go into Networking, but also mention MCSA. I can’t talk to the Microsoft certifications much. From what I understand, MCSA is more of sys admin of Windows OS not so much networking.

If you’re interested in networking but have little to no experience, you should start with the N+ and move from there. The CCENT is Cisco’s version of an entry level cert; but you should have some networking experience before heading in that path.

3. westernkings

westernkings Gigabyte Poster

MCSA is relevant to a Network Admin and Manager as in a lot of cases a network administrator does just that, administers the entire NETWORK. He never said he wanted to do networking, the titles are pretty cross compatible in terms of definition. Network Analyst would usually be someone specific to actual networking I think. But as a Network Administrator and Manager, MCSA/MCSE and then good sound experience of networks in general is a must. Either way, he is going to have to start from the bottom and stop expecting to be able to just go into a network administrator role. Depends on what he can salvage from his previous experience though in terms of relevant experiences.