Cert plan for 2007

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Sparky, Dec 26, 2006.

1. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Following on from Cheeks thread in regard to certs for 2007 has anyone got an idea to what certs they would like to achieve next year? Also when you are setting these goals are they set in stone or are just going to see how it goes as the year progresses?

As the wife is away to the Boxing day sales (I said I would stay home and tidy the flat!) I thought I would skim over the books for the remaining MCPs I have to complete to finish the MCSE.

I have to pass the 70-282, 70-293, 70-294 and 70-297 to finally get the MCSE.

All of the exams look challenging but hopefully the 70-282 should not take too long as I have plenty of hands on experience with SBS and also I have covered DNS, DHCP etc in the 70-291 exam.

70-293 – Introduces clustering and certificate services. There is also Security and Group polices to consider which were covered in the 70-291 exam.

70-294 Introduces child domains and trusts. Active Directory admin, Group Policy and rolling out software is also covered which was in the 70-290 exam. Performance logs and alerts are also highlighted and this was covered in the 70-291 exam.

70-297 Seems to take all the concepts from previous MCPs and how they are to be used to devise a new network solution and also assessing the existing IT infrastructure.

I’m sure all of the exams will be a challenge but it does appear there is a logical progression as you pass each MCP towards the MCSE. Some of the topics in the books have been introduced in earlier MCPs and are now being used in another area. For example DNS and DHCP are used for network infrastructure design as apposed to just being ‘DNS’and ‘DHCP’ as stand alone topics.