Cert first

Discussion in 'A+' started by metrock 66, Aug 15, 2008.

1. metrock 66

metrock 66 Byte Poster

Hi all,

Currently i am studying the A+ (self study :biggrin) and while searching the posts on the subject there were some that mentioned applying for entry level jobs while still studying. But i have decided (my own opinion) that i think i will first get the cert studyed and passed first before i start applying the reason?. I have applied for a few entry level jobs and all have stated 6-12 months experience and with my total non exsistant IT experience (currently unemployed FLT driver) it seems to me the logical way would be at least to have a regognized cert on my c.v so i have at least one thing i can take to possible interviews.

Any thoughts on this guys???

Certifications: None
    WIP: Just started A+
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Sounds as if the job ads were misleading. Entry level implies no experience. If you have experience then it isn't entry level!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

With zero experience you may find it hard getting entry level jobs as a techie. The A+ is an excellent start to bolster your CV though you still need experience.

Suggestions for possible work to put down on your CV to accompany your new cert (when you get it) would be:-

Voluntary work in an IT related field - Probably your best bet. Ask if you can help out at your local school or college in their IT department for instance. Although you may not get paid for this type of work it will look much better on your CV having at least some experience with computers.

Customer Service Role - You'll find a lot of these quite quickly if you look hard enough and that's the beauty of them. These types of jobs help your customer service and personal skills which have synergies with IT support jobs (talking to second-line support, contractors etc)