Cerco 3 week fast track

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Chaffers, Sep 6, 2010.

1. Chaffers

Chaffers New Member

I've just finished Cerco's 3 week fast track course.

I'm hardly a newbie in the industry, though after a tour of Afghanistan I felt that I needed something recent on my CV.

I've been on many IT training courses before as well as completing numerous certifications through self study. I was a java programmer in a previous life but would like a career change. I therefore believe that I am in good position to provide a balanced view.

I've read through a great many comments on this forum which are mainly from people who haven't been near Cerco. Those that have been on the course don't tell any lies, that I've seen, however do appear to be a little confused as to the nature and workings of the IT industry. Don't misunderstand me, I feel sorry for anyone who is having a hard time getting into their chosen profession. I'm sure a few consider their investment to be a deposit on buying a job. I didn't have to attend the course to know that they are wrong. Others may consider the course to be expensive. I disagree here too. I've been on many training courses in old and archaic technologies (TOOL anyone?) that cost my employers a great deal more for little return in skills or ability.

Anyone who has applied for a job through a recruitment agency will typically be indirectly paying far more than the cost of Cerco's courses. I consider that there is a degree of hypocrisy prevalent in this regard, although the situation is regrettable.

What I will say is that I found the training to be excellent. If you believe courses of this nature are a scam then I can assure you that the instructors themselves are not involved. All were experts in their field and exceptional.