CCSP without experience

Discussion in 'Network Security' started by samcode, Jul 30, 2009.

1. samcode

samcode Bit Poster

Hi :D......this is my first day here..I'm in my 3rd year(B-tech) and a CCNA.I'm planning to do CCNA security next.
    The main thing here is I have the time to even complete CCSP in college which means i will be having no real industry/company experience but having the CCSP(i will be having the experience of working on real routers/switches but not in a real industry).Is it useful to do it when in college or do it after some industry experience? .

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: CCNA security
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

After industry experience. No company in their right mind will allow someone right out of college to start securing their networks. One cannot truly secure what one has never administered.

By all means, get the knowledge... but the certification won't do you much good (and can actually hurt your chances of getting into IT!) until you get some real-world experience under your belt.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. samcode

samcode Bit Poster

Hi Micheal,
    Thanks for the information mate....

In what way do u think will it affect my chances of getting inside the IT industry(please reply)??????

And

Is it okay to atleast complete my CCNA security and CCNP(as u had suggested) before completing college ????

4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

You may want to read this.