CCNP route which IOS/Router?

Discussion in 'Routing & Switching' started by millsie, Dec 29, 2011.

1. millsie

millsie Byte Poster

Hi all, I am currently looking to either purchase, or borrow routers and IOS to study for my CCNP route exam and was wondering from anyone who has studied/passed this exam, which are the best routers and IOS versions to use for all the labs etc during my studies?

Thanks in advance

Millsie

Certifications: N+, CCNA, MCDST
    WIP: CCNP route 642-902
  2. marho

marho New Member

Hello, I am studying CCNP but without real equipment (I'm studying at school). When I started with CCNP, I made list with neccesary equipment. And approximately this is it:
    - router IOS must be 12.4, in no case earlier version (that means RAM at least 64 MB).
    - of course power, console, ethernet and WAN cables. How many depends on your creativity in topologies.
    - routers can be 3640, 2610, 2611XM, 2620XM and others similar to those versions
    - minimaly you need at least 3 routers
    - I think each router must have at least 2 WAN connector and 1 Ethernet.
    - if you don't want devices on the ground, then some rack (for example small 12U)

To the future (CCNP Switch), you will need switches:
    - 1x layer 3 switch, most common is C3350. L3 switch is really expensive
    - at least 2x layer 2 switch, most common is C2950

In CCNP Switch is some labs with PoE (Power over Ethernet) and wireless. I think, you don't need any equipment to this.

Best Regards, Martin

Certifications: CCNA, CCNP Switch (only netacad)
    WIP: MCTS Exam 70-680
  3. Cunningfox

Cunningfox Byte Poster

I would suggest 3x 3640 or similar running 12.4+ and a few additional routers BGP capable (2610's or better cheap as chips those). I would add to that 2x 3550's and 2x 2950 switches.

This is what I used and I found it perfect :).

Certifications: CCNP, CCNA, MCP
    WIP: ??
  4. certnerd

certnerd Bit Poster