CCNA start

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by RevoKha, May 16, 2010.

1. RevoKha

RevoKha New Member

Hi there

I am new to this site, nice to meet you all

Just got a couple of questions which i'm hoping some of you may be able to help me with

I have a degree, but its in law, i am currently working in finance, nothing amazing, but its ok but its nothing to do in IT, now I do wish to go into IT, I toyed with the idea of doing a masters computer science conversion course but that would have only gotten me into programming which I do not want, i want to go into networking

Is it feasible going ahead with the CCNA with my background, despite the lack of experience, the CCNA course will be in a london university

I almost made the mistake of applying for a 6 day ccna course, what the hell is that about! lol

Thanks

Certifications: LLB
    WIP: CCNA
  2. Finkenstein

Finkenstein Kilobyte Poster

Hello, and welcome to the forums.

Certification is usually used to show what you already have experience in. Generally it isn't worth getting a cert on something you may not have any experience with. For example, if you aren't programming and troubleshooting Cisco routers on a daily basis, then you really have no professional need for a CCNA. If you were to get your CCNA and then hired for a job requiring that CCNA, you'd be way in over your head.

If it is networking you want to get involved in, I'd recommend that you look into CompTIA's Network+ certification, however having no IT experience, you may want to even start with the A+ and build your skills from there.

Hope this helps!

Certifications: MCP, Network+, CCENT, ITIL v3
    WIP: 640-822
  3. TommyTee

TommyTee Byte Poster