CCNA self-study... a few questions

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by penright, Jan 11, 2006.

1. penright

penright New Member

Hello,
    I’m interested in starting a CCNA self-study course. My background is in designing embedded software for VoIP media gateways (H248, SIP, MGCP etc). However, I could like to expand my general network knowledge and move into designing VoIP networks. I’m hoping that a CCNA will give me a start on this career path.

I have a few questions about the course. Can I sit the CCNA exam in the UK (London preferably) without attending a 5-10 day workshop/course. I would like to do this as a self study course over a 4-6 month period. Who can I contact about just sitting the exam and has anybody any experience of the amount of effort and costs.

I will ask my current employer for a few hours a week to pursue this qualification but I think they will be un-willing to pay for an actual course.

If anyone has gone through this route and has any tips or tricks please pass them on.

My first goal is to estimate the cost and time effort the CCNA will take.

Thanks

penright

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: CCVP
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Hi Penright and welcome to our world :biggrin

I haven't done the CCNA so I won't comment but I am sure others will be along soon (when they wake up) and will be able to guide you.

Pete

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. Clyde

Clyde Megabyte Poster

open uni does CCNA but only once a year so you'll have to wait. But plenty of books etc are freely available

Yes, you can sit the exam without attending a classroom course

don't do it via self study without access to the kit... you'll fail

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA, MCSE
    WIP: MCITP
  4. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Whilst I'm not a CCNA, it is possible to study for the CCNA through self study.