CCNA Question

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by Abs, Aug 30, 2008.

1. Abs

Abs Bit Poster

Hi guys

I have been offered to do the CCNA course and I dont know weather to take it or not. Im a 25 year old guy who wants to get into the IT world eventually, at the moment I work as a printer for a communication company, I decided to get into the IT business a year ago, so I looked it up and found this forum a while ago, after reading it for a while I decided to start doing my A+, once I did that course I started studying for MCDST, now that I have studied that course, I went to my locol uni to take the MCDST test, after talking to one of the test guys for a while, i told him my interest at the moment is to eventually get into networking, and Im thinking of doing networking + once I finish this course. My plan was to do the A+, N+ and MCDST, then no more courses until I found an IT job. I have been looking for entry level jobs while I have been studying, but I cant leave my job as a printer until I have found something else. Anyway he told me they have decided to scrap N+ from this year, but they had the CCNA.....I told him I did not know to much about that course, but my understanding was that it was a course that you do once you are in the business, and I have no IT experience, so I didnt want to be over qualified for an entry level job. He said this is an entry level course and it would help me to get an entry level job. The course was offered for me free, because I earn under a certain amount. So should I take the course or would it become more of a hinder for my job seeking. I have heard those stories of people who are too qualified for an entry level job, but have no experience for the more advanced jobs, so they are stuck basically. Plz advice me guys....would you take it

2. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster