ccna lab

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by Jaytee2305, Feb 25, 2008.

1. Jaytee2305

Jaytee2305 Bit Poster

Hi

I'm new to this part of the forums so take it easy on me please!

I have nearly done my MCSE and want to start on the CISCO track. I have a few questions

1) Is it worth doing it with a training provider? Commsupport seem to have a good package

2) Do I need a lab such as the one below?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CISCO-CCNA-Ro...ryZ73321QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

3) What should I start with CCNA or CCENT?

J

Certifications: MCSE, Network+, Server+, HP APS
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Depends on what you want to do. You can either take the single exam CCNA or the two-exam CCNA track which includes the CCENT. If you have a good bit of Cisco experience, you can probably pass the single-exam CCNA. If you don't have a lot of Cisco experience, you might find that there's less information to consume at a stretch with the two-exam track... plus, you'll get a bonus certification! :)

You can do it with a training provider, or you can do it through self-study. That choice is up to you, though I would recommend self-study.

I'm bad with picking out lab equipment... as soon as I think I have a good lab setup, the requirements change. I've long since gave up trying to keep track of it all.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. sunn

sunn Gigabyte Poster

Not much I can recommend without knowing your experience.