CCNA in Training!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by sonics46, Mar 22, 2011.

1. sonics46

sonics46 New Member

I graduated pre-med from Emory U. in Atlanta, GA, but I need some cash before I jump off to med school. I'm talking at least 3 - 6 years here. A friend of the family said I should train for CCNA certification and the Juniper equivalent. He works for AT&T makes 6 figures and can get me an interview. All I have to do is get the certifications.

What do you think? Is this a smart move?

I know this is the fastest growing industry with the lowest unemployment rate. So, it seems like a smart move to me. I'm a quick learner, and computers and computer-related material come naturally to me.

I think I'm going to give it a shot starting with the CCNA double exam (ICND1 and ICND2 I think) rather than just the single exam. Does that sound like a smart move to you guys?

I will do the Juniper part next.

I should say that I'm not familiar with TCP/IP information, but that I am hoping that will be in the Cisco textbooks ( I bought 3 haha).

By the way, my nickname is Cisco! I plan to visit this forum often. Peace.

-Francisco

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

The CCNA isn't a cert for someone who wants to work in IT or make money fast.

The CCNA is a cert for people who already administer and support cisco hubs and switches. There are no fast routes into IT you need to start with entry level certs and work your way there.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. dales

dales Terabyte Poster