CCNA DIY?

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by goude, Sep 21, 2007.

1. goude

goude Bit Poster

Hello everyone,

I am seriously thinking to try and get the CCNA certificate. After a small internet search I found many IT academies that offer CCNA courses. Some claim that they can teach you in 1 week, other in 1 year:eek:
    I am really confused:blink . :blink :blink What's is going on with these academies?

On the other hand the course fee is quite high, so I was thinking to learn CCNA by myself.

Does anyone know, where can I find or buy the course material? Did any of you studied by himself? If yes, what books did you buy? How many hours did you study per day? How long did it take you to pass the exam?

I am sorry I am bombing you with so many questions but I am really confused.:rolleyes:
    I have very basic networking knowledge. I am currently working as a systems engineer but I only started 3 months ago, so I am not experienced.

Any kind of advice regarding CCNA, is highly appreciatted!!!

Thank you in advance!!!!

WIP: CCNA
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

It depends on the academy. The 1 week ones are very similar to boot camps, while the 1 year ones are part-time (combined with a Btec course).

I'm not sure about prices as our local college which is a Microsoft and Cisco Academy charges £442 for the CCNA and exam, see here. But then again it is dependant on where you study, shop around.

It is possible to self-study for the CCNA, just check out Amazon for a wide variety of CCNA books. I tend to sway to the Sybex books as I have used them alot for MS exams, but you can get official CCNA academy books. Someone who has self-studied & passed the CCNA will be here shortly to help you out.

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster