CCNA Case Sudy Assignment HELP!! lol

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by roost3r, Dec 31, 2005.

1. roost3r

roost3r Bit Poster

Hi all hope you are all well and had a nice xmas.
    Im back again for a bit of help if thats OK

I am currently studying CCNA through the cisco academy and i am at the end of first semester and i have to do a case study which i am struggling with a little and would appreciate any ideas for what i have to do.

Basically i have to design a network for a company,it has to have 7 subnets which i can calculate no probs but where i confuse my self is with what hardware to use. I realise each subnet will need a router interface in order for the subnets to communicate with one another, but what is the best way to do this. do i just find a router with 7 or more ethernet ports and then have a switch for each subnet to connect to it?? or is there a better way. i am going to use cat 6 cabling running at 100 mbps and then for server room i will have gigabit ethernet in full duplex mode but although i understand the concept and theory of it obviously i havent designed a full network before and am unsure of what routers or switches to use

hope ive made sense lol heads a bit mashed today

any ideas would be appreciated

thanks a lot

roost3r

Certifications: CISCO IT Essentials Instructor
    WIP: CCNA, Foundation Degree
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Sound simillar to something was given in CCNA2.

I will PM you with the details.

8)

3. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

What you need to use is called VLAN Trunking.

4. roost3r

roost3r Bit Poster

thanks very much for your help simon feel a bit calmer now lol

all the best for new year too

roost3r

5. mickeypendu

mickeypendu Bit Poster

Interesting scenario.