CCNA as the next step in my career.

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by J7ody, Jul 25, 2009.

1. J7ody

J7ody New Member

Good Day to all.

I must admit to not having been on here in quite a while, however with my next question I knew of only one place I would get the best answers around.

To give some background on myself I work within a Windows 2003/XP and Citirx environment on a day to day basis. QUalifications I have are:

CompTIA A+
    CompTIA N+
    MCDST
    Citrix Certified Administrator
    MCSA (MCDST accounting towards it and 1 of the core exams passed for Windows 2003 Administration)

I am looking at returning to University next september and am now looking for training that will prove beneficial to my course as well as my career path. It is with this in mind that I am looking into the CCNA as a main part of the degree will be based on that. I wish to be competant at networking where I have some knowledge so that I can focus my attentions towards subject areas I am not so confident in once there.

I am not looking just for a course to make sure I pass the exam, I will be investing about £300 in a home Cisco Lab setup to enable my ongoing training, but obviously need somewhere to get me in the right direction.

Investigation so far has covered:

The two week courses from various vendors that cost a £2,000+
    The 6 day intense course from vendors such as CompuPeople who guarentee an exam pass (this to me screams training in answers only)