CCNA as my first cert - thoughts and help

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by Testarossa, Dec 23, 2014.

1. Testarossa

Testarossa New Member

Okay so i am taking a CCNA course (72 hour course spanning 2 months) and at the end taking the tests for either the 1 or 2 tests. I have no previous certs or experience in the field. However i am not stupid. I am wondering if i dedicate myself to this course, study daily & practice daily, will I be able to grasp all the concepts?

Any help is appreciated, thanks

2. jerry.paul1

jerry.paul1 New Member

Dedication is strongly recommended for having expertise in networking field. I'll suggest you to study theory for CCNA and practice labs on hardware or on Cisco Packet Tracer or GNS3 software. CCNA is not that easy but I wish you best of luck. If you need further guidance then contact me.
    I'll be happy to help you out.
    Thank You

Certifications: CCIE (R&S
  3. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Do you work in IT mate?

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  4. cisco lab rat

cisco lab rat Megabyte Poster

If you have no previous experience, never having touched a networking device i.es routers and switches you will find it very hard going.

It depends what the 72 hours is, are they recorded videos or classroom? What practical work will you expected to do, on simulators or real kit.
    If you practice daily i would expect anyone to be practicing at least 2 hours per day on the labs getting as much hands on as possible.

It's not about being smart or stupid but having the aptitude for networking, not everyone takes to it immediately, some people really, really struggle with simple concepts like VLAN's but totally understand OSPF and then are baffled by ACL's.