CCENT Study Plan

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by mcrilly, Jun 6, 2011.

1. mcrilly

mcrilly Byte Poster

Hi Guys,

I have my CCENT exam next Tuesday, the 14th June, and I just wanted your opinions on a few things.

Firstly, I have a copy of the CBT Nuggets CCNA series which was, according to the narrator/tutor, recorded in September 2007. Am I correct in saying that the CCENT/CCNA exam(s) have not changed since the 2007 re-fresh (if there was one) and as such, this material is still applicable? Also I have a Cisco press book (ISBN: 1-58720-182-8) which I am using as well. Is the book a valid resource as it stands?

Secondly, my study plan. Because I currently work in IT and have practically installed, setup and presently maintain a large number of our Cisco kit (3550s, 3600s, etc), I have felt confident enough to power through 15 of the 30 CBT Nuggets videos in the aforementioned series today, since 9AM. I am going through another 6-7 videos tomorrow.

My plan was this: attack a set of videos, such as Videos 16-20, then pick up my CCENT/ICND1 book and read the "Key Topics" of each chapter that relates to the videos just watched. I was going to get this done by Friday, then on Monday and Tuesday morning (my exam is at 12:00) I was going to look over my notes, read the "Key Topics" of all the chapters and perhaps watch a few videos on my more complex subjects, like sub-netting.

Does that seem like a decent way going about it? I do real confident around IOS and I am comfortable with a lot of the Ethernet standards, WAN technologies, protocols etc, so it shouldn't be too much of a problem, but I want to give my self a good chance first time around.

All opinions welcome and appreciated.

Certifications: CCENT
    WIP: CCNA, RHCE, & VCP
  2. mcrilly

mcrilly Byte Poster

Thanks for the input guys. Big help.

3. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator