Career info?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by adrian, Jan 17, 2009.

1. adrian

adrian Nibble Poster

Im currently studying to get my first basic certs and go for a IT job. I was wondering what to actually expect.

Im thinking my main interest will most likely be in networking and possibly network security but I was wondering, if im lucky enough to land a entry level network engineer jobs, what I will actually be doing day to day. What sort of situations require a network to have a dedicated security engineer? And are there other network specializations other than security? What do they do day to day :D

Also, I noticed many jobs for network security professionals ask that a person have alot of experience with network security - but to what extent can someone get alot of security experience in a standard network eng job? It seems like a catch 22 - you cant get get a security job without having experience in it already :P.

Certifications: A+ N+
  2. dwhyte85

dwhyte85 Nibble Poster

You will find it hard to find anything in computer security without experience, but, with some smart selection of certs you can boost your performance and learn knowledge.

You'd first need to know networks, so a good start point might be Network+ after you've done your basic certs, then consider Security+ after this, consider CEH (Certified Ethical Hacker) after you've done all your basic certs - that will teach you the methods of intrusion, thus with your gained knowledge you will/should be able to work backwords to stop the intrusion... saying that, with hardware like SonicWALL that proclaim to do everything, continually improving detection for viruses, malware and spyware it'd be hard to be a dedicated security engineer.

Other cool jobs that would utilize those skills... computer forensics / computer fraud analysts, these will use experience of the methods to work backwords to work out what had happened rather than prevent! Anyway, just a couple of ideas!