Career changing newbie here 31yrs old

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by londonbiker, Apr 3, 2010.

1. londonbiker

londonbiker New Member

Hi all,

Well thought I'd introduce myself. I am a newbie on the forum (and the world of IT), so be nice :-)

Have been in marketing for 10 years in London, and fed up with it, so looking to get into my first love of IT. Specifically the networking, security and admin side of things.

Have no clue where to start so your advice would be welcome.

Hope to speak to you all, as had a sneaky look around the forum and it looks like a lot of people on here know their stuff.

Rob

Certifications: CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+
    WIP: Microsoft MCTS 2008 Active Dir
  2. simonp83

simonp83 Kilobyte Poster

Depends a great deal on your current experience and where you currently work, if you're working for quite a large company, might want to look into an internal promotion and put the feelers out in the company? Also look at doing the A+ and Network+ cert and perhaps look into stuff like the Server+ as well.

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, MCTS, MCITP
    WIP: 70-291
  3. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

Hi.

Welcome to CF! :D

So, does "and the world of IT" mean you're new to computers (being a competent user but nothing beyond that counts too)?

If so, I would recommend getting this book and reading through.
    Try to aim to pass CompTIA A+ exam this year as from next year this certificate will have to be renewed every 3 years.

By the time you get this, if you become a regular on this forum, you'll know what to do next.

Nothing stops you from looking for entry level job in IT now. However, without advanced knowledge the only position you would be suitable for would be helpdesk position answering phones and reading from script.