Career Change

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by marinemaniac, Jul 27, 2010.

1. marinemaniac

marinemaniac New Member

Hi All,

Have been looking into a career change for sometime now and decided IT is the area I am most interested in.
    I have a BSc Computing Science but have been caught up in Sales since I graduated in 2000. Now the sales arena is not one I want to continue with.

Have been looking into course providers, had a conversation with Computeach yesterday which was possitive. Joskos have called but was a very short chat and the promised email has not yet arrived! NITLC are coming around tomorrow to discuss what I am looking for. Any comments on any of these would be appreciated.

It seems the best place to start would be A+ and Net+ then moving onto MCDSA. From there it appears the best route would be to get into a support position to build up experience. Then I could choose to work on an MCSE to gain further certs while getting the work experience. any comments about this route?

Now that I have come accros this forum it has identified the option of self study, has this been widely adopted and succesful?

Any suggestions or comments will be much appreciated, this has been a rather long introduction so apologies for that!

Merv

Certifications: None
  2. beaumontdvd

beaumontdvd Kilobyte Poster

Do you mean mcdst mate?

EDIT: Personally I would study urself through self study mate, I wouldn't trust any training provider unless recommended by someone on this forum, I have had many bad experiences. Its cheaper to teach yourself. Hope it goes well!

Last edited: Jul 27, 2010
    Certifications: 070-271, 070-272, (MCDST)Level 1,2,3 NVQ
    WIP: 070-270, A+, N+, S+,MCDST 7 Upgrade
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster