Career Change - Part 2

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by jayserrao, Apr 21, 2009.

1. jayserrao

jayserrao New Member

Hi guys,
    I know that there has been a previous post before but here is my dilemma.

I am a Financial Accountant by trade (Qualified by Experience) and I'm looking to get into a career in IT. The main reason for this is purely the monotonous nature of Accountancy. I have been looking at various courses online/day/weekend study etc and as I mentioned in my greetings post, I have been using this forum as reference for all of it.
    I have now come to a decision of pursuing the CCNA course due to its demand. I also want to be more of a hybrid professional (Finance and Cisco Network Associate) cos I feel it would put me in demand in the Financial Services sector. Not sure though!
    However, Commsupport seem to carry out a decent 12 day intensive course for this. http://www.commsupport.co.uk/02_12day.htm

Its a bit pricey for me as I work freelance but can probably afford to pay for this course courtesy CC and partner's support.

My question to you all is this.
    a) What are my job prospects after completing a CCNA course?
    b) What would my starting salary be?
    c) The course link I've posted above is fairly comprehensive and targeted at people like me. Zero knowledge of networking etc. But do I require knowledge of A+ and Network + to compliment my CCNA?
    d) The job climate for Finance profs like myself is looking grim for the next few years. How is the climate for CCNA professionals?

Once again, I appreciate all your inputs and answers. I want to get the ball rolling as soon as I can, financially and time wise.

Cheers guys

2. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

Hi Jayserrao,