Career Change, need some reassurance..

Discussion in 'Network+' started by rudd, Aug 26, 2012.

1. rudd

rudd New Member

Hi, new to the forum and iv signed up purely to gain as much information to help me decide if this career change idea is for me or not.

Apologies in advance, and i expect its been asked millions of times but straight to the point. As a complete novice, is it a MUST i study, and take the comptia A+ exam prior to any other studying, or can i jump straight into the N+ exam.

Iv bought a mikey meyers version 5 n+ book but now im unsure wether i should slow down and get this a+ sorted first? Iv googled it abit and some people say A+ is pointless, others say its a must.

I currently work for a treeworks company and im ready for a change, had enough of smashing my body to pieces.

From what iv read up, and i have no idea if this is right or wrong....but I plan on passing the N+, then beginning with the CCENT, with views to work towards a CCNA. Obviously i understand i will require some hands on work experience along the way, but is this cert path the right way to do things?

Any help will be appreciated, please understand that all of this is fresh to me. Cheers

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

If you're set on Cisco training, why not start with IT Essentials ?

Also why it helps to be aware of the big vendors, I don't think you should base your career choice solely on marketing or a single vendor.

A lot of network engineers may have started their careers with Novell Netware for instance but they barely exist in the network space anymore.

You should ideally state your goals and motivations, 'I want to be a network engineer because...'

Typically people start with the A+ because you need to understand some prerequisite stuff before you start to learn networking.

Also people normally enter network engineer roles after having one or more IT support positions.

Last edited: Aug 26, 2012
  3. rudd

rudd New Member