Career advise.

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by natkay2603, Aug 27, 2008.

1. natkay2603

natkay2603 Bit Poster

Hi,
    I have been an IT tech in a school in the uk for about a year. I am also studying for my MCSE, i have my first exam next week. I feel like i am being held back a little by my job. My boss is great and so are the rest of the guys i work with, But i don't feel i'm learn and feel that it could be time to progress. My current responsabilities include the following.
    • Repairing Harware.
    • fixing network issues (switches, cabling etc)
    • server work (installing updates/packages, installing network printers to servers etc).
    • running cables
    • installing OS and adding to network
    • installing and confiuring software
    • installing updates
    • User admin on AD
    • Exchange stuff (creating groups etc)
    • IP camera install and maintenance
    • VOIP
    Also little thinkgs like fixing day to day problems with laptop, desktops and PDA's, most of which i can fix straight away but if not i will always find the answer online or from a book. If anything goes wrong on the network i have to fix it, or if i can't then my boss gets an outsider in. My boss is great but doesn't have MCSE or any other microsoft cert. So i am not really learning for him. There is also another guy that is the same level as me, but less knowledgable (and interest) as i am, I find my self fixing he's mess ups and giving him advise and help alot. I don't mind helping me and has been there longer than i have.

Should i look for a new job? if so what kind of position should i look for? Is this a normal situation to be in?

2. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

Your best bet is to keep a diary of what you do for a week or 2, stuff like responsibilities and so on, and compare that to your job spec.