Career Advise needed for Security Consulting

Discussion in 'Network Security' started by ZeeIsOn, Apr 5, 2013.

1. ZeeIsOn

ZeeIsOn New Member

Hi Guys,

I Have currently got CCNA, CCNA Security, CCNP, Comptia Security+ and currently studying for CCNP security (starting with VPN). I want to be a security consultant by profession and was wondering if anyone here can advise me the next best steps. I plan to do CISSP and Ethical Hacker courses after the CCNP security, and also ISO2007?

Advise appreciated :)

Regards

Zee

Certifications: Beng Computing Degree, CCNA, ITILv3 Foundation, CCNA Security, Comptia Security +, CCNP
    WIP: CCSP (Now known as CCNP security, then CEH, CISSP and maybe CCNA Voice/Video coz I have know Idea about those!)
  2. Beerbaron

Beerbaron Megabyte Poster

I'm currently studying for the CCENT exam. Once I have done the CCNA I'm looking at the Certified ethical hacker course. I think you have listed most of the relevant courses. Maybe something in computer forensics.

Certifications: BSc (Hons), MSc, ITIL v3F, MCP, MCDST, MCITP: edst7, MCTS, MCSA: Server 2003, MCSA: Windows 7, N+, NVQ IT lvl 3, MCSA Windows 7, VCP5, CCENT, CEH
    WIP: CISSP
  3. Rob1234

Rob1234 Megabyte Poster Forum Leader

What experience do you have?

Certifications: A few.
  4. ZeeIsOn

ZeeIsOn New Member

Hi Guys :)

Rob1234,

I have 3 years experience working Service desk/2nd line and also 3 years experience as a Network Engineer; NOC 1 year and almost 2 years in 3rd Line Network Administrator.

Computer forensics sounds interesting but I don't think a certification is available for that, maybe a degree? :S

Certifications: Beng Computing Degree, CCNA, ITILv3 Foundation, CCNA Security, Comptia Security +, CCNP
    WIP: CCSP (Now known as CCNP security, then CEH, CISSP and maybe CCNA Voice/Video coz I have know Idea about those!)
  5. Rob1234

Rob1234 Megabyte Poster Forum Leader

Sounds like you have a good background to start moving into security.