Career advice needed.

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Fire guy, Nov 2, 2006.

1. Fire guy

Fire guy Bit Poster

Hi all.

Now that I can see the light at the end of the tunnel with A+ my thoughts are turning to what type of job I would like to end up in.
    At the moment I work as a service engineer in the fire protection industry. There are many things I love about the job I do, like working from home, being able to plan my own working days, visiting a wide variety of locations, meeting lots of different people. But there are plenty of things that I don't enjoy like having to work in the dirtiest corners of factories/warehouses that never get cleaned, monotony and most important of all the lack of career progression.

So what would be really helpfull is if any of you cool CF ladies and gents could offer suggestions or advice on a career path that would lead me to a job that includes the positives mentioned above.

What I really enjoy doing is problem solving and fixing things.
    I quite like the look of networking but have not seen enough of it to be sure.
    I'm not averse to spending maybe a couple of years in an office/workshop in order to learn but don't fancy that sort of situation in the long term.

All advice received with gratitude.

Ivan

Certifications: A+
    WIP: N+
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi Ivan,

I am pleased to hear of your high spirits. The trick is to stay positive, focused, determined and be prepared for plenty of study and practice.

In all honesty, changing career is always tricky; employers usually want people to start that can <cook on gas> on day one. I believe that everyone is entitled to a chance to change, and you will have one too.

You already have a field based job where you self manage yourself, are customer facing and meeting different challenges everyday. Employers like these things- I know I had a similar position only a year ago and they helped me along the way.