Career Advice for Support Analyst tring to get into 3rd line

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Adzmobile, May 6, 2011.

1. Adzmobile

Adzmobile Nibble Poster

Hi Guys,

I managed to pass my ITIL today! woohoo.... anyway..

Im a support analyst been in IT for around 3 years now and been working in few sectors.. Legal.. Charity.. Medical.. but i've been mainly doing 1st/2nd line work well thats what i think im not totally sure if you guys could give me some advice and guidance i would very much appreciate it..

So this is what experience i currently have.. and im tring to progress my career but im hitting abit of a brick wall.. i feel this way neway.

I have worked with the usual 1st 2nd line work.. so fixing printers.. basic fixes... troubleshooting pcs/laptops installations... troubleshooting applications like legal softwares and basically whatever general problems you encounter day to day in a working environment.

However i have also been involved with an email migration project.. so understanding how all users are currently accessing emails.. creating the spreadsheet to import all users into new system using csv files.. liasing with hr who has left the company... tidying up active directory so.. removing all users not required.. setting up new profiles.. exchange tasks such as exporting pst files.. training assistant how to migrate users and use exchange.. arrange with users when to do the migration.... setting up quotas for exchange mailboxes also with blackberrys migrating them.. so wiping and so forth..

Ive also trained up engineers helping them with the outlook importing the new data and creating mapi accounts so forth..

now.. i seem to be still doing work in 1st 2nd line roles...I mainly do contracting.. This doesnt seem to help me with moving more into 3rd line and doing tasks more server related.. i mean i've helped during when server disk space running low so installing new drive and partitioning disk drive.. ect..