Cannot join computer to new domain

Discussion in 'Networks' started by zoltar, Feb 22, 2006.

1. zoltar

zoltar Bit Poster

Hi, i have recently set up a new win 2k server, to practice working with active directory (i am studying mcsa at the moment). It connects to the internet through a wireless connection to a d-link adsl wireless modem-router. I have set it up as a domain controller. Now i am trying to add a laptop computer to the domain, which also connects wirelessly through the d-link router, but i get the message cannot find a domain controller. What am i doing wrong?
    Any help will be much appreciated. Thanx.

Certifications: Comptia A+, Network+, MCSA, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

first of all can you ping the domain? are they on the same subnet? AND ip range? i know this could be like duh... but check them..

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

hi,

are you using the router or server to hand out IP addresses?

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

It's going to be a DNS issue. Your domain controller will also have DNS running on it, as Active Directory relies on having a working internal DNS structure.

Your laptop is probably getting a preferred DNS server as your ISPs or the router address. You need to set up DHCP, so that is gives out your internal DNS server as the preferred DNS server and then configure your domain controller's DNS service to forward external DNS requests to your ISP or other Internet DNS servers. This is done in the forwarders tab in the properties of the DNS server.