Can someone help me please?

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by Paul, Feb 9, 2010.

1. Paul

Paul New Member

I'm after some guidance really on what to do to achieve my goal (network engineer).
    I currently work in a System Admin role (5 years exp), working on a HP Unix environment, being 1st line of support in all IT problems.
    I'm not sure whether this job is entry level or desktop support.
    I have no cisco experience whatsoever so I know I need to go for a more network related job before studying the ccna.
    Would someone be able to give me the type of jobs I should be looking for giving my current experience.

Many Thanks
    Paul

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Do you have any certs already? if not I suggest getting the A+,N+ and MCDST getting these may bolster your recognition where you work and they may decide to put you into 2nd line support or even 3rd which would probably give you more exposure to the more adanced side of your company i.e networking

Then when you get the experience you could apply for network admin jobs and proceed from there.

N+ (networking) would give you a good solid beginner certs and help you in your networking career persuit.

Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
    Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

If you're not already doing server administration, I would encourage you to find opportunites to do so. Server admin jobs typically lead to network admin jobs.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  4. Paul

Paul New Member

Thanks for your swift responses.