Can an NTFS partion read and write to a FAT Partion?

Discussion in 'Software' started by beaumontdvd, Jan 22, 2010.

1. beaumontdvd

beaumontdvd Kilobyte Poster

Hi everyone, sorry about the silly questions. Im studying through questions for the 272, Im not going to include the exact question.

But basically someone has xp pro and 98 in a dual boot config, xp is on D: (NTFS) an application is available logs on to both OS. when logged onto 98 the user cannot access files written by when she was logged onto XP. The app store files on the D: drive when logged onto xp? would changing the app settings to save it to c: work? if the user wants to access them both on 98 and XPPRO? So cant NTFS save to fat without the data beng corrupted basically? And can fat read the data witout and loss of data?

Hope someone can help,

Regards,
    Dave

Certifications: 070-271, 070-272, (MCDST)Level 1,2,3 NVQ
    WIP: 070-270, A+, N+, S+,MCDST 7 Upgrade
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Filesystem support is something built into the OS.

Windows 98 never suppported NTFS it supported two flavours of FAT, NTFS was an NT only filesystem at the time.

Thats why a vanilla Windows 98 install will not be able to access NTFS partitions by default.

Later all MS OS's would come with both NTFS and FAT32 support.

The different filesystem drivers don't write to each other.

Windows applications open OS file handles and use streams to read and write data.

Here you go :-

http://kadaitcha.cx/ntfs.html
    http://www.diskinternals.com/products/ntfs-reader/

General Info :-

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_Allocation_Table#FAT32
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_file_systems