C++, Yay or Nay

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Jaron78, Nov 28, 2015.

1. Jaron78

Jaron78 Gigabyte Poster Forum Leader

I was on Udemy the other day and have managed to get a Cool C++ Course.

Just wondered on peoples views of C++ over Java? Programming has always appealed to me and find it interesting.

I am working on the Network+ and Linux+ but there is a very good chance work will pay for the Course for this. I have an appraisal next week (Which I think will be fine) so I will raise it then.

To be honest, C++ is more of a Hobby, but something that will look great on a CV?

Thoughts please?

Thanks,

Ron

2. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

I dont see why not, if you have the time go for it, the more knowledge the better! My friend learned java and made a pretty cool game.

Jaron78 likes this.
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

I was a professional C++ programmer for 7 years, and Java programmer for 12+. You can PM me with any questions.

C++ was the predominant language in the 1990's when machines were pretty limited, because like C it was efficient, but also allowed large systems to be built due to its Object Orientated extensions.

Unless you are programming for a resource constrained device or absolutely need full control of the hardware its arguably not the best language to learn for most people.

"C makes it easy to shoot yourself in the foot; C++ makes it harder, but when you do it blows your whole leg off."
    Bjarne Stroustrup

"Go further by standing on the shoulders of giants, C++ programmers stand on each others' toes."

C++ does look great on a CV, but to be good at it realistically requires about 3 years full-time programming. Many program in it for years and still make subtle and disastrous bugs without realizing.

Modern languages can give you most of the performance gains and less of the baggage and poor language design choices.