Buy or Build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by flex22, Oct 20, 2004.

1. flex22

flex22 Gigabyte Poster

Do you think I should buy or build my next PC.
    I'm studying A+ 210 AND 215 AT PRESENT.

i'LL ASK PLENTY MORE WHEN i FINISH WORK.
    But initial thoughts plz.

2. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

id build it
    there are plenty here willing to help if you need it
    and as far as im aware we have been through installing network cards and hard disks already :P

buying it yourself allows you to buy quality components, and put the power where you need it for your specific needs

you can be far more fussy about what you use, places like dell just use whatever they can get in large quantities for the lowest price :/

Certifications: MCSE, MCITP, VCP
    WIP: > 0
  3. christof

christof Nibble Poster

I built my own PC before I had decided to study for the A+, and found it not only great fun, with a touch of frustration, but an invaluable learning curve.

I now have no fear of opening up a PC and pointing out the components, and doing any upgrades myself, coupled with the A+ I'm gaining alot of knowledge about diagnosing problems, and trouble shooting to find the solutions.

Bottom line I enjoy it. That's the biggest thing I think. If you enjoy it you tend to learn alot quicker.

FYI. don't do what I did and install an old H/D with XP on it from a P3 1gig, to a new build AMD XP2400, or with any new hardware like mother board etc.
    I learnt to my immense frustration at the time that XP takes a digital image of your system, and won't work if you swap CPU or motherboard etc.
    It's something to do with stopping people doing what they used to do with Win98. Take the H/D with 98 out put it in a buddies machine and mirror the drive. Hey presto a free copy of Win98.

So it's a good idea but a tad frustrating.

Certifications: certificate of life!!!
    WIP: A+
  4. Phoenix
    Honorary Member