Bit of advice. Getting into networking...

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by dave_gray2077, May 1, 2009.

1. dave_gray2077

dave_gray2077 Bit Poster

I’m currently doing a Degree in computing (in 3rd year now) and this includes a Routing/Telecoms module. With this comes a free shot at CCNA which I was going to take with it being in with the job lot.. I’m thinking of nothing to lose kinds thing as its free.

The only problem is will this gimp my job prospects as I don’t have any experience to back it up. Do you think its worth delaying this qualification? Iv read a few posts that seem to suggest that this qualification will not help you without vast experience to back it up on very large networks.

I also work full time at a call centre (im just 1st line phone support but it is IT related) but we only have like 1500’s ish hosts on our network so its nothing like the 500 node network that a lot of employers seem to expects any network technician to be familiar with. So I’m not sure if even voluntary work here would help me.

On the other hand I don’t want to be back tracking after doing a degree to do stuff like N+ if it can be helped.

Also just to add providing I pass then degree I will be going onto my masters which includes a free shot as CCNP. But I don’t realy want to be CCNP in 2 years time with zero experience as I assume Ill end up locking my self out of basic IT jobs unless I omit things on CV’s etc.

Do you dudes have any suggestions. Or tips for getting into networking? I under stand that a job rigth into netwoprking will be slim to none even with a degree backing up CCNA without attached experiance.

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA, Fd Degree, BSC (hon).
    WIP: MCDST
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member