Best way to study.

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by werthers93, May 3, 2007.

1. werthers93

werthers93 Bit Poster

I've received the A+ complete study guide and have the exam prep book on its way.

Can somebody enlighten me on the best way to revise, I'm new to homestudying, especially IT.

Is it worth making notes as I go through, or summarising each chapter, or marking up the book with key points (dont think i could bring myself to do this though!!)?

I know this may sound like somebody asking how to suck eggs but I dont just want to get bogged down with too much info from the offset.

Cheers,

Mark.

WIP: WIP A+
  2. derkit

derkit Gigabyte Poster

This is how I revised for the A+ 2003:

1) Read a book (in this case Mike Meyers All-In-One)
    2) As reading the book, paraphase everything onto A4 lined paper.
    3) After finishing the book, go through each chapter and write down anything that seems likely to be in the exam, and more importantly write down things I can't remember (eg, I know how CPU, Northbridge and RAM work together so I don't write it down, but IRQs/DMAs I will write down).
    4) After having two sets of notes - detailed book like notes and revision notes I go about reading the revision notes over lunch, at work when its quiet, any time really.
    5) From the revision notes, I cram anything I need to remember into 1/2 words and put them all on 1 sheet of A4 per chapter. And keep re-reading and understanding.
    6) Use CBT or test exams to see where I'm at. If the scores are too low I repeat steps 4 and 5 until I feel confident.

Next time round (which will be 70-271) I'll probably read, write notes during re-read and then skip step 3 - having 3 sets of notes was a little over the top so I have found - but other than that thats it.

Did the same with my degree and it worked out OK - but it does vary from person to person.

Certifications: MBCS, BSc(Hons), Cert(Maths), A+, Net+, MCDST, ITIL-F v3, MCSA
    WIP: 70-293