Best practice for MCSE courses ?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Ratatoskr, Sep 11, 2013.

1. Ratatoskr

Ratatoskr New Member

Hi,

Is it a requirement, very important, beneficial, or unimportant to have the Windows 7 AD course together with Windows 7 client course? If important, should it then be taken before or can it just as well be taken after the Windows 7 client course?

I know what MS says and I know that when I studied for Windows 2003/XP MCSE I had good use of having the AD studies done prior to WinXP client but I've never tried it the other way around but now my employer, although I've pointed this out for several years (while waiting for some knowledge upgrade), does not believe me and have decided that I can do without the AD, or maybe get it another year.

I'm an old MCSE for Win2003 + XP.
    Atm I'm in charge of all computers (Windows 7), smartphones, users and their accounts, + a few other areas. I'm supposed to be able to secure these clients with GPO's and other type of registry modifications + also apps on the computers to heighten security.
    With Windows 2000 and XP (as an MCSE) I had all the knowledge on how to work the Server AD user accounts and modifying start-up GPO's, etc.. With Windows 7 Server AD and Windows 7 Client I'm quite lost. I can't secure the clients like I could on Windows XP, because of my lack of knowledge.

2. Shinigami

Shinigami Megabyte Poster

The server side stuff is not necessarily linked to the client side OS. Back with the 2000/2003 MCSE, there were conditions where you could do a 2000 Pro exam and use it as an elective for a 2003 MCSE.