Best IT Jobs websites?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by hugorilho, Apr 25, 2009.

1. hugorilho

hugorilho Byte Poster

Hey guys. Do any of you recommend any site with ads for IT jobs? I'm specifically looking for a trainee job.

Here's my life in a nutshell.

I'm from Portugal, and I came to England (Newcastle to be exact) to give my life a fresh reboot. I've been a journalist for the last couple of years but I'm done with that, so I decided to apply for a MA in Public Relations at Newcastle University.

The course will start in September but I came earlier, in January, to climatize (freezing weather up here in the northeast but it's getting better), to improve my language skills, and to find a job (minimum wage would be enough) that would kept me occupied. During these last 4 months, I've been attending some interviews for sales jobs and I did get a job in sales but I quit after a month or so because I wasn't born to sell stuff to people. I can't do it in Portuguese, even less in English... So with this economic climate, I'm now stuck here in Newcastle.

Then I've discovered these IT certifications and tried to give it a go because I've gained some IT skills while I was journalist. I was my newspaper's website content managemer and office where I worked had a windows XP pro workgroup environment with an old Pentium III (great machine in the old days, hehe and it had been given fresh new RAM and other components so that it could run XP Pro) working as a file server.

I learned a few basic but useful things form the network administrator. Now I'm studying really hard for my 70 271 exam booked for the end of May. But what about afterwards? After I've completed my MCDST (both exams, of course) will it increase my chances in getting a job here in Newcastle or in the Northeast or should I move to London?

A trainee job would suit me because despite having IT skills gained in a professional context I've never worked in a purely IT environment.