Best certification for webdesigning?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Riaz, Mar 28, 2009.

1. Riaz

Riaz Bit Poster

Hi guys,
    I want to ask if anyone knows of a certification that is widely recognized everywhere (globally) for webdesign. I know there is CIW but I'm unsure if many are actually aware of it. I'm just starting out by learning webdesiging languages like XHTML, CSS and php but would like a certification to validate that I have the skills. Apart from CIW I havent been able to find any. :cry:

Certifications: CompTIA A+, MCP (70-270)
    WIP: CIW Web Design
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

IMHO the best 'cert' for web-design is a good portfolio! That will get you noticed far more than any piece of paper.

If you need a piece of paper then the various levels of CIW are probably the best option.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

What he said.

The best cert for web designing is the ability to design webs.

8)

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Apart from the CIW program, you may want to take a look at Adobe range of certs (ACA) for Photoshop, Dreamweaver & Flash.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  5. Riaz

Riaz Bit Poster

Hmmm this makes sense :) thanks all for the advise...i'll learn and probably look into some project to have a good portfolio. i needed some sort of direction. now i know what to do :)

6. Ence

Ence Kilobyte Poster

you could look at graphic design as that goes hand in hand, what you looking at in web design fount end back end or both. So you going to have to lean code - not Dreamweaver

I started in night school desktop publishing, Then did a HDN HDC graphic design/electronic media.